2015 Oxford Awards

February 19, 2017

The Oxford Laboratories Awards are given for excellence in the advancement of knowledge related to small animal endocrinology, and were announced at the SCE Business Meeting at the 2016 ACVIM Forum in Denver, Colorado. Thanks to Oxford Laboratories for supporting these awards once again this year!

Based on the recommendations of the SCE, the 2015 Oxford Laboratories Awards for Excellence in the advancement of knowledge concerning small animal endocrinology are being presented in two categories: Basic science and Clinical science.

Basic Science:

First Place:
Alisdair M. Boag, Michael R. Christie, Kerry A. McLaughlin, Harriet M. Syme,
Peter Graham, Brian Catchpole, et al. “Autoantibodies against Cytochrome P450 Side-Chain Cleavage Enzyme in Dogs (Canis lupus familiaris) Affected with Hypoadrenocorticism (Addison’s Disease).” PLoS ONE 10(11): e0143458. doi:10.1371/journal.pone.0143458.

Second Place:
Miriam M.J. Kool, Sara Galac , Noortje van der Helm, Catharina G. Spandauw,
Hans S. Kooistra, Jan A. Molet al. “Expression of somatostatin, dopamine, progesterone and growth hormone receptor mRNA in canine cortisol-secreting adrenocortical tumours.” The Veterinary Journal 206 (2015) 108–110.

Clinical Science:

First Place:
Linda A. Frank, G.A. Henry, J.C. Whittemore, B.D. Enders, D.I. Mawby, and B.W. Rohrbach. “Serum Cortisol Concentrations in Dogs with Pituitary-Dependent Hyperadrenocorticism and Atypical Hyperadrenocorticism.” JVIM 2015;29:193-199.

Second Place:
Susan Gottlieb, J.S. Rand, R. Marshall, and J. Morton. “Glycemic Status and Predictors of Relapse for Diabetic Cats in Remission.” JVIM 2015;29:184-192.